PDA

View Full Version : Beware of Scams!!!


Pelican
12-21-2003, 09:41 AM
This past week I've received two e-mails concerning my credit cards that are scams. They were attempting to get my account numbers and PIN information.

One was posing to be from Citibank. It stated there was a problem with my e-mail info and I should click on the link provided and enter my debity card # along with PIN. Clicking on the link took you to a site that looked like an official Citibank web site, using their logo and all.

Since I don't bank with Citi, I became suspicious and went to their website to investigate. The e-mail I had received was listed among their fraudulent notices and they were warning all to disregard it.

Yesterday I received a very similar notice from what appears to be Earthlink, my server provider. It was an official looking email using their logo and all, stating they had a problem billing my account for this month, listing the possibilities that could cause this. Again, I was provided a link to re-enter my credit card information.

When I clicked the link, a bunch of alarms went off on my screen, and a file with a "Root" heading was displayed. I've been warned in the past about "Root" files and to stay away from them.

Just wanted to let you all know these are out there, and others are sure to pop up. A generic warning: No legitimate enterprise will solicit you for credit or debit card info. DO NOT provide any site requesting this info with your numbers. With the holidays approaching and increased activity on credit cards, these slime balls are taking advantage of our weaknesses and are counting on being able to sneak through our confusion. Don't become a victim!

Honest Mike
12-21-2003, 10:12 AM
Thanks Pelican for posting that info. Its a real shame what scams people try and think up. Hopefully the losers who are behind it all will be caught and given more than just a smack on the wrist! :mad: Mike :headwall

snowplowjay
12-21-2003, 11:59 AM
Yea I had a fun week last week also. Somehow a web hosting server got ahold of my Credit Card # and was charging me their monthly hosting fees (funny thing is I have never had any of my web domain names hosted :nope )


Then no sooner I get that straightened away I come to find out that someone has hacked into my Ebay account and has switched my contact email adress to some unheard of name using my first and last name in the email name.


Well luckily both issues have been resolved.


BE CAREFUL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Jay

Lawngodfather
12-21-2003, 12:03 PM
Please take the time to report those scams to them.

And you all know, no one askes for your stuff like that so don't fall for it.

NovaLC
12-21-2003, 12:56 PM
People who fall for those scams deserve to get ripped off, it's just too bad it costs us all in the end.

BOUNDS-ELECTRIC
12-21-2003, 12:59 PM
I had one pose as a Pay-Pal rep. to try to get my card #! I e-mailed Pay-Pal let them know!

Pelican
12-21-2003, 01:05 PM
Nova, these guys are getting sophisticated and are using web sites that appear genuine. I'd list the link that I received so you can see, but apparently they've been shut down, the page comes up "Not available".

Here's the text that came with the Earthlink notice:

Dear Earthlink valued customer,

We regret to inform you, that we were unable to charge your card. This maybe due to our payment processing failure, billing system overload, invalid card number, exp date, daily limit, insufficient funds, or other reasons. We need you to re-enter valid payment and verification information.

Click here to continue payment verification process - https://earthlink.net/payment/verification.cgi
Your information will be submitted via a secure server. Earthlink keeps all of your contact and billing information confidential and private.


At the top of the e-mail was this heading:

Pelican
12-21-2003, 01:08 PM
The text was in different fonts and looked like something you'd receive from a large organization like Earthlink.

I wouldn't say anyone deserves to be scammed:nope

Adams Plowing
12-21-2003, 01:10 PM
I hate when i get junk e-mails like that i seem to get one claiming to be aol atelast every other day...

Plow Dak
12-21-2003, 02:42 PM
I dumped Earthlink last year. THey double billed me and never gave me a refind. Their anti spam never worked as when my other server was bought out by them i got 43 e-mails in one shot. From G rated to X rated. i was not happy. Called them and they said they never sold accounts or anything like that..So how did i get all those e-mails in less than an hour after i was switched..????I won't go into their answers. I'll never try Earthlink again..

Got Grass
12-21-2003, 07:18 PM
Personally I'd be happy if someone forgot to bill my card...
Screw them, their fault for loosing the info... I'm still getting service... So must be a scam...

Each E-mail sent by these guys sould be a case of fraud...
that would teach em.

WoofsPlow
12-22-2003, 04:13 AM
The one thing to remenber - NO account will ever ask for verification of account numbers, if somebody asks for account or credit account info it's a scam! I have received emails from MSN that seemed legit but were scams the same for ebay.

Rob
12-22-2003, 06:58 AM
Originally posted by Pelican
When I clicked the link, ... a file with a "Root" heading was displayed.

As an addition to the above, luckily you spotted the bad link as sending you to a Root. Please be aware that currently their is a BUG in Internet Explorer where the malcontent building the website can make it look like a legitimate site and even spoof your address bar so it looks like you are at the real site when in fact you are NOT. Microsoft has NO plans to release patch fixes in December so it looks like this problem will be around for a while. For more info on it, see this article in eweek (http://www.eweek.com/article2/0,4149,1409592,00.asp)

I have also gotten them from PayPal asking you to reverify your info. The link displays correct looking information. Actaullay, it was a VERY good imitation site. But as Pelican and some others said, they will NEVER contact you out of the blue and ask for your credit info.

Rob
01-07-2004, 08:18 PM
Just wanted to bring this back to the top.

I have received 2 emails from "ebay" in the last two days claiming my account is about to be suspended because during their routine audit they could not verify my information. So, I was supposed to click a link to update my info. If you clicked it, it took you to an ebay looking page that asked EVERYTHING from your social security number to your ATM PIN. If you happened to right click and do properties, you would see the page was actually being produced by some domain witha suffix of .ph (which I believe is Philippines) Obviously NOT ebay. This was a VERY good looking page, so please be VERY careful about stuff like this, also let your friends know especially if they have limited computer skills and may not spot the fake.

Also, if you do get an ebay email like this forward it to spoof@ebay.com

Roger Dodger
01-08-2004, 06:45 AM
Originally posted by NovaLC
People who fall for those scams deserve to get ripped off, it's just too bad it costs us all in the end.
That's kind of harsh to say. There are many elderly folks that succumb unknowingly to scams, thinking they are doing something proper or Samaritan like. I can't tell you how many times I had to explain to my grandmother that she wasn't a sweepstakes winner regardless of their slick wording. Unfortunately, we all can't be thinking on our toes 100% of the time, so a few unfortunates end up being sucked into the vortex. Afterall, a scam is cleverly designed to appear as a lion in sheep's clothing.

Mick
01-08-2004, 10:00 AM
What I can't figure out is who falls for those Nigerian money laundering emails - "We need you to put our $15 million dollars in your account". :rolleyes:

carpediembaby
01-08-2004, 10:46 AM
my Credit Card # and was charging me their monthly hosting fees (funny thing is I have never had any of my web domain names hostedJay
I had almost the exact thing happen to me. If hadn't have looked at my statement I wouldn't even have noticed it! They had been chargin me for three months before I noticed it. I put in the name of the company and did a search on the internet and came up with a few sites that showed this place was scamming people. I'm still not sure HOW it happened.

Pelican
01-08-2004, 06:34 PM
I got another one today posing as an Earthlink advisory:

__________________________________________________ __
Dear Earthlink valued customer,

We have noticed that an un-authorized access attempt was made to your account at www.earthlink.net. Our security software has blocked access from the intruder to your account, but the un-authorized user's attempt managed to replace the password on your account.

The password has been restored for mail and internet access, however the intruder may still be able to get access to your account and or any personal information that you might have used with your account.

To avoid further problems with your account such as credit-card number, or personal information loss we advise you to replace the password to your account as soon as possible.

*To change your password, click the button below.



Continue


*Earthlink.net has no responsibility or liability if your information is lost or stolen if you decide to leave your password the same or elect not to change it per our request.

__________________________________________________ __


The link they provided didn't work, so I did a little backtracking. It was sent by a source using prodigy.net as a server, not Earthlink. I'm sure had the link worked they'd have asked for my personal information to verify the password change. Be careful!

leprechaun 50
01-09-2004, 03:33 AM
I got the same message. Forwarded it to Earthlink support.